Banner for Aviation Consumer Protection web pages

You are here

Aviation Consumer Protection Advisory Committee

Live Meeting of the Aviation Consumer Protection Advisory Committee (ACPAC)


The Department of Transportation has reestablished the Aviation Consumer Protection Advisory Committee (ACPAC or Committee), formerly known as the Advisory Committee on Aviation Consumer Protection, as a Federal advisory committee.  The FAA Reauthorization Act of 2018 (FAA Act), signed by President Trump on October 5, 2018, extended the authorization for the ACACP from September 30, 2018 to September 30, 2023.  The ACPAC will evaluate current aviation consumer protection programs and provide recommendations to the Secretary for improving them, as well as recommend any additional consumer protections that may be needed. 

The Department has also established a National In-Flight Sexual Misconduct Task Force (Task Force) as an ACPAC Subcommittee as mandated by the FAA Act.  The Task Force will review current practices, protocols and requirements of U.S. airlines in responding to and reporting allegations of sexual misconduct by passengers on board aircraft.  It will also provide recommendations to the ACPAC on best practices relating to training, reporting, and data collection regarding incidents of sexual misconduct by passengers onboard commercial aircraft. The Task Force's Charter is available here.

ACPAC Docket

Committee documents are available online at, Docket number DOT-OST-2018-0190.

Committee Charter

The ACPAC’s Charter, drafted in accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA), as amended, 5 U.S.C. App. 2, sets forth policies for the operation of the advisory committee and is available online on the FACA Database.

Previous Committee Activity

To view previous activities of the Committee, including Reports to the Secretary, click here

Updated: Monday, April 1, 2019
Submit Feedback >