Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

The latest general information on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) is available on For USDOT specific COVID-19 resources, please visit our page.

Government Officials at the US Department of Transportation

Key U.S. Department of Transportation Government Officials


Secretary of Transportation  (Vacant)


Chief of Staff (Vacant)

U.S. Department of Transportation Operating Administration Officials

Steve Dickson - Administrator, Federal Aviation Administration

Steve Dickson - Administrator

Federal Aviation Administration
Steve Dickson is the Administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration.
Read more about Steve Dickson


Administrator (Vacant)

Federal Highway Administration


Deputy Administrator (Vacant)

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration


Administrator (Vacant)

Federal Railroad Administration


Deputy Administrator (Vacant)

Federal Transit Administration


Administrator (Vacant)

Maritime Administration


Deputy Administrator (Vacant)

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

Craig H. Middlebrook - Deputy Administrator, Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation

Craig H. Middlebrook - Deputy Administrator 
Great Lakes St. Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation

Craig Middlebrook is the Deputy Administrator of the Great Lakes St. Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation


Eric J. Soskin - Inspector General
Office of Inspector General 

Eric J. Soskin is the Inspector General for the Office of Inspector General.


Office of the Secretary Officials


Acting Under Secretary for Transportation Policy (Vacant)


Chief Financial Officer and Assistant Secretary for Budget and Programs (Vacant)


Chief Information Officer (Vacant)


Irene Marion - Director, Departmental Office of Civil Rights

Irene Marion serves as the Director of the Departmental Office of Civil Rights.


Senior Advisor, Office of Drug and Alcohol Policy and Compliance (Vacant)


Director, Office of Intelligence, Security and Emergency Response (Vacant)


Director of Public Affairs (Vacant)


Assistant Secretary for Governmental Affairs (Vacant)

Last updated: Thursday, January 21, 2021