Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Department of Transportation Advisory Committee on Human Trafficking (2018-2020)

The Combating Human Trafficking in Commercial Vehicles Act (Pub. L. No. 115-99) required the establishment of a Department of Transportation Advisory Committee on Human Trafficking (ACHT) to make recommendations on actions the Department can take to help combat human trafficking, and to develop recommended best practices for States and State and local transportation stakeholders in combating human trafficking.  The initial ACHT was terminated on October 3, 2020, upon the expiration of its charter and completion of the work it was assigned to perform.


View the 2018-2020 Advisory Committee on Human Trafficking final report  (submitted on July 2, 2019): Combating Human Trafficking in the Transportation Sector.


Meeting Date Venue Agenda Related Materials
1 December 6, 2018

DOT Headquarters

Washington, DC

Meeting 1 Agenda
2 March 12, 2019

DOT Headquarters

Washington, DC

Meeting 2 Agenda
3 May 17, 2019

DOT Headquarters

Washington, DC

Meeting 3 Agenda
4 June 17, 2019 Teleconference Meeting 4 Agenda


The 2018-2020 ACHT, established by Charter on October 3, 2018, was comprised of 15 members appointed by the Secretary of Transportation to serve for the life of the committee. The members of the ACHT are a cross-section of stakeholders from both industry and labor, including representatives from the aviation, bus, law enforcement, maritime, port, rail, and trucking sectors.  To learn more, view the 2018-2020 ACHT Charter

  • Chairperson: Catherine Todd Bailey, Former U.S. Ambassador to Latvia  
  • Vice Chairperson: Linda Burtwistle, President & COO, Coach USA; Board Member, American Bus Association  
  • Paul Anderson, President and CEO, Port Tampa Bay  
  • Nicole Clifton, Vice President, Global Public Affairs, United Parcel Service  
  • Sherri Garner Brumbaugh, President and CEO, Garner Transportation Group; Vice-Chair, American Trucking Associations  
  • Michelle Guelbart, Director, Private Sector Engagement, ECPAT-USA  
  • Greg Hynes, Alternate National Legislative Director, International Association of Sheet Metal, Air, Rail, and Transportation Workers (SMART-TD)  
  • Kristen Joyner, Executive Director, South West Transit Association  
  • Loretta Kennedy, Director, Domestic Operations and Investigations, JetBlue Airways  
  • Laura J. Lederer, President, Global Centurion  
  • David Lorenzen, Chief, Iowa Motor Vehicle Enforcement, Iowa DOT  
  • Kendis Paris, Executive Director, Truckers Against Trafficking  
  • Mi Yung Park, Government Relations Director, A21  
  • Eric Smith, Vice President & Chief Commercial Officer, Hendry Marine Industries  
  • Lynn Thoman, Adjunct Professor of International and Public Affairs, Columbia University


Emergency 911
National Human Trafficking Hotline 1-888-373-7888 
Text INFO or HELP to
BeFree (233733)
Homeland Security Investigations Tip Line 866-DHS-2-ICE


Sign up for TLAHT news and events.