Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Department of Transportation Advisory Committee on Human Trafficking

The Department of Transportation Advisory Committee on Human Trafficking (ACHT) makes triennial recommendations to the Secretary of Transportation on countering human trafficking in the transportation sector.  The ACHT was re-chartered on July 29, 2022 using the Department's authorities under the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law (BIL) (P. L. 117-58).  The ACHT was initially established as mandated by Sec. 5(a) of the 2018 Combating Human Trafficking in Commercial Vehicles Act (P.L. 115-99).  Sec. 23020 of the BIL requires the Secretary of Transportation, acting through the ACHT and in coordination with the Attorney General, to submit a triennial counter-trafficking report with recommendations for countering human trafficking, an assessment of best practices by transportation stakeholders, and human trafficking violations involving commercial motor vehicles.  

The ACHT is comprised of 15 members appointed by the Secretary of Transportation to serve for the life of the committee. The members of the ACHT include a cross-section of stakeholders from both industry and labor, including representatives from the aviation, bus, law enforcement, maritime, port, rail, and trucking sectors.  While the Federal Register Notice to solicit nominations for membership closed on October 7, 2022, the Department will continue to accept nominations under this notice to fill any vacancies that may arise.

DOT Advisory Committee on Human Trafficking

Left to Right: Brad White, Werner Enterprises; Julie Abraham, DOT ; Nicole Bambas, DOT ; Derrick Waters, Coach USA; Earlyne Alexander, Port Authority of NY & NJ; Leslie Richards, Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority; Shamere McKenzie, Special Government Employee;  Asst. Sec. Annie Petsonk, DOT; Rabbi David Saperstein, Special Government Employee;  USDOT Secretary Pete Buttigieg; Esther Goetsch, Truckers Against Trafficking; Annika Huff, Special Government Employee; Sam Cho, Port of Seattle; Tiffany Wlazlowski Neuman, NATSO; Heather Healy, Association of Flight Attendants-CWA, AFL-CIO; Daniele Richards, DOT; Maha Alkhateeb, DOT; and Lt. Col. Michael Krumm, Michigan State Police.

For more information about the ACHT, view the following:


Emergency 911
National Human Trafficking Hotline 1-888-373-7888 
Text INFO or HELP to
BeFree (233733)
Homeland Security Investigations Tip Line 866-DHS-2-ICE


Sign up for TLAHT news and events.