Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Hispanic Employment

Pursuant to Executive Order 13171, all Federal agencies, including DOT, must take a proactive stance in addressing the low participation rates of Hispanics in the Federal government. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, in 2010, Hispanic Americans numbered 50.5 million, or 16% of the U.S. population, and were the largest minority group in the country.  This was a significant increase from the 2000 measured Hispanic population of 38.8 million, and the upward trend is expected to continue.

Furthermore, the Census Bureau reports that by the year 2050, or sooner, one in four Americans will be of Hispanic descent. This significant increase in the Hispanic population has given rise to a large influx of Hispanics into America's workforce. The DOT must be prepared to effectively manage the recruitment, selection, hiring, retention and development of Hispanics in its workforce. Hispanics employees comprised only 6.9% of the total Federal workforce compared with 10.69% of the 2000 civilian labor force, and just 3.3% of Senior Executive Service (SES) employees. The Hispanic Employment Program at the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) is one part of DOT's effort to address the low employment rate of Hispanic individuals and to prepare an effective future workforce.

For more information on the DOT Hispanic Employment Program, please contact Hispanic Employment Program Manager Alfrida Coombs at alfrida.coombs@dot.gov or 202-366-9361*. Additional contacts, including Program Managers for each Operating Administration, are included in this directory.

Hispanic Employment Program Managers

Name

Address

Phone

Alfrida Coombs
OST/DOCR
alfrida.coombs@dot.gov

DOCR, S-32, Rm. W86-457
1200 New Jersey Ave, SE
Washington, DC 20590

Phone: 202-366-9361
Fax: 202-366-5575
 

Kimberly Castillo
FAA
kimberly.castillo@faa.gov

Office of Civil Rights
800 Independence Ave, SW
Washington, DC 20591

Phone:  202-385-8130
Fax:  202-493-4341
 

Linda J. Williams
FHWA
linda.j.williams@dot.gov

Office of Civil Rights
1200 New Jersey Ave, SE
Washington, DC 20590

Phone: 202-366-1604
Fax: 202-366-1599
 

Taft Kelly 
FMCSA
taft.kelly@dot.gov

Office of Civil Rights
1200 New Jersey Ave, SE
Washington, DC 20590

Phone: 202-366-4474
Fax: 202-366-3477
 

Francisco Gonzalez
FRA
francisco.gonzalez@dot.gov

Office of Civil Rights
1200 New Jersey Ave, SE
Washington, DC 20591

Phone: 202-493-6076
Fax:  202-493-6009
 

Eugene Jenkins 
FRA
eugene.jenkins@dot.gov

Office of Civil Rights
1200 New Jersey Ave, SE, Rm. E54-303
Washington, DC 20591

Phone: 202-366-0793
Fax:  202-366-7890
 

Phyllis Stephenson
MARAD
phyllis.stephenson@dot.gov

Office of Civil Rights
1200 New Jersey Ave, SE
Washington, DC 20591

Phone: 202-366-3449
Fax: 202-366-3791
 

Philip Newby
NHTSA
philip.newby@dot.gov

Office of Civil Rights
1200 New Jersey Ave, SE, Rm. W43-324
Washington, DC 20591

Phone: 202-366-6076
Fax:  202-366-2990
 

Scott Holland 
PHMSA
scott.holland@dot.gov

Office of Civil Rights
1200 New Jersey Ave, SE
Washington, DC 2059

Phone: 202-366-0002
Fax:  202-366-0506
 

John Benison
RITA
john.benison@dot.gov

Office of Civil Rights
1200 New Jersey Ave, SE, Rm. E35-336
Washington, DC 20590

Phone: 202-366-0910
Fax:  202-493-2933
 

Maria Caminos-Medina
RITA/Volpe
Maria.caminos-medina@dot.gov

Office of Civil Rights
55 Broadway, Rm. 1-8-20A
Cambridge, MA 02142

Phone:  617-494-2452
Fax:  617-494-XXXX
 

Vicki Garcia
SLSDC
vicki.garcia@dot.gov

Office of Civil Rights
180 Andrews St.
Massena, NY 13662

Phone:  315-764-3208
Fax:  315-764-3235
 

* If you are deaf, hard of hearing, or have a speech disability, please dial 7-1-1 to access telecommunications relay services.

Last updated: Tuesday, February 8, 2022