Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

ET-2010-05 Elimination of SmartBenefits® Vouchers


Bulletin Number:  ET-2010-05

Date:  January 25, 2011

SUBJECT:  Elimination of SmartBenefits® Vouchers

PURPOSE:  To notify transit benefit participants that paper SmartBenefits® vouchers will no longer be available as of March 31, 2011. Effective immediately, all employees receiving SmartBenefits® vouchers are required to have their transit benefit downloaded to a Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA) registered SmarTrip® Card. Continued eligibility requires all DOT employees who use any mode of mass transportation other than a Maryland Commuter Bus to register to receive their transit benefit electronically.

Participants using a Maryland Commuter Bus (MTA) such Dillion, Keller, and Eyre will be issued paper fare media accepted only on those buses.

ACTION:  Employees that now qualify for the SmarTrip® card or take MTA must recertify by March 10, 2011. Employees who fail to recertify will be withdrawn from the program and risk losing their benefit for those months not registered.

BACKGROUND:   DOT Transit Benefit Program Policy and Guidance, Section 3.0 states in part:  “all employees receiving the transit benefit …are required to have their transit benefit downloaded to a registered SmarTrip® Card. “ 

INFORMATION:   If you do not have a SmarTrip® Card, go to for information on how and where to purchase your card. For information on how to recertify go to: .

Assistance is Available – If you have any questions or require additional information, please contact your Supervisor or the DOT Parking/Transit Office (PTRAN) at .

EXPIRATION DATE:  This Bulletin will remain in effect until cancelled. 

Darlene McCaffrey, Associate Director, Transportation Benefit Programs

Last updated: Friday, March 3, 2017