Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Countries That Do Not Require Designation for U.S. airlines

About this Document

Air service agreements sometime require that the U.S. Government formally notify its foreign aviation partners, in writing, that a particular U.S. airline may provide services pursuant to the applicable agreement.  This communication is commonly referred to as a “designation.”  The United States has eliminated the designation requirement in recent air service agreements (e.g., the U.S.-EU Air Transport Agreement, covering the 27 EU Member States).  In other cases, the foreign governments have accepted “blanket” designation for all U.S. airlines to provide service under the appropriate bilateral agreement.

This document lists the countries that do not require a designation by U.S. Airlines.

DOT is committed to ensuring that information is available in appropriate alternative formats to meet the requirements of persons who have a disability. If you require an alternative version of files provided on this page, please contact
Last updated: Thursday, January 17, 2013