Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Applying to SMART

Grant Eligibility 

SMART is a two-stage program. Stage 1(up to $2,000,000 dollars and 18 months) grants are open for any eligible entity to apply. Only recipients of Stage 1 grants are eligible to apply for Stage 2. 

Who is Eligible to Apply to Stage 1?

  • a State; 
  • a political subdivision of a State; 
  • a Tribal government; 
  • a public transit agency or authority; 
  • a public toll authority; 
  • a metropolitan planning organization; and 
  • a group of 2 or more eligible entities detailed above, applying through a single lead applicant.

Have more questions about whether you are eligible? See the Frequently Asked Questions for more examples and details. 

Who is Eligible to Apply to Stage 2?

  • Recipients of Stage 1 grants.