Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Rebuilding American Infrastructure with Sustainability and Equity (RAISE)

General Grant Program Information

Under the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law (BIL), the Rebuilding American Infrastructure with Sustainability and Equity (or RAISE) program provides funding for capital investments in surface transportation that will have a significant local or regional impact. 

A Benefit-Cost Analysis (BCA) is required for this grant program. For more information about BCAs, see What Is a BCA? and the USDOT's Benefit-Cost Analysis Guidance for Discretionary Grants.

Opportunity Status:
Posted Date:
Close Date:
Eligible Applicants:
State Governments; Local Governments; Federally Recognized Tribes and Affiliated Groups; Transportation Providers and Operators; U.S. Territories
Eligible Activities:
Planning; Construction
Transportation Type:
Air Bike/Ped Bridge Maritime Railway Roadway Transit
Most Recent Annual Program Funding Amount:
$1.5 Billion
Annual Award Amount:
$0 - $25 Million
Cost Sharing or Matching Requirement:
Match Waiver:
Rural Set-Aside:
Grant Opportunity ID:
Links to Additional Information:
USDOT / Office of the Secretary of Transportation (OST)

Eligibility Information

Eligible Applicants 

Eligible applicants for RAISE Transportation Discretionary Grants are:

  • States and the District of Columbia; 
  • Any territory or possession of the United States; 
  • A unit of local government; 
  • A public agency or publicly chartered authority established by 1 or more States; 
  • A special purpose district or public authority with a transportation function, including a port authority; 
  • A federally recognized Indian Tribe or a consortium of such Indian Tribes; 
  • A transit agency; and 
  • A multi-State or multijurisdictional group of entities. 

In addition to projects located in the United States, eligible projects for RAISE grants include projects that are necessary for reconstruction of the Alaska Highway from the Alaskan border at Beaver Creek, Yukon Territory, to Haines Junction in Canada and the Haines Cutoff Highway from Haines Junction in Canada to Haines, Alaska, as provided in 23 U.S.C. 218.

Multiple States or jurisdictions may submit a joint application and must identify a lead applicant as the primary point of contact. Each project party in a joint application must be an eligible applicant. Joint applications must include a description of the roles and responsibilities of each project party and must be signed by each project party.

Eligible Projects

Eligible projects for RAISE grants are:

  • Highway, bridge, or other road projects eligible under Title 23, United States Code;
  • Public transportation projects eligible under Chapter 53 of Title 49, United States Code;
  • Passenger and freight rail transportation projects;
  • Port infrastructure investments (including inland port infrastructure and land ports of entry);
  • The surface transportation components of an airport project eligible for assistance under part B of subtitle VII (see FAQ # 10 for details);
  • Intermodal projects;
  • Projects to replace or rehabilitate a culvert or prevent stormwater runoff for the purpose of improving habitat for aquatic species while advancing the goals of the RAISE program;
  • Projects investing in surface transportation facilities that are located on Tribal land and for which title or maintenance responsibility is vested in the Federal Government; and
  • Any other surface transportation infrastructure project that the Secretary considers to be necessary to advance the goals of the program.

Funding Information

Merit Criteria

The Department will review Merit Criteria for all applications and will then review Project Readiness and Economic Analysis only for a subset of projects determined by the Merit Criteria ratings. Project Readiness consists of a Technical Capacity, Environmental Risk Assessment, and Financial Completeness Assessment.

The Merit Criteria are safety, environmental sustainability, quality of life, mobility and community connectivity, economic competitiveness and opportunity, state of good repair, innovation, and partnership and collaboration. For each merit criterion, the Department will consider whether the benefits are clear, direct, and data driven, which will result in a rating of “high, “medium,” “low,” or “non-responsive.” Specific considerations for each merit criterion are described in the rating rubric in Section E of the NOFO.

Award Amounts

For capital projects located in urban areas, the minimum award is $5 million. 

For capital projects located in rural areas, the minimum award is $1 million.

Planning projects do NOT have a minimum award size.

The maximum grant award is $25 million. 

Federal Cost Share

The Federal cost share may not exceed 80% for urban projects that are NOT either located in an Area of Persistent Poverty or a Historically Disadvantaged Community.

However, Federal cost share may exceed 80% for projects that are rural, or located in an Area of Persistent Poverty, or located in a Historically Disadvantaged Community.

Please see the FY 2024 RAISE Application FAQs for more information.

Contact Information

Andrea Jacobson
RAISE Program Manager

The Dashboard provides users with a high-level overview of relevant Federal discretionary grant programs. The information in the Dashboard is maintained as a secondary resource and may not be updated with the most recent changes to each program's primary guidance materials. Accordingly, please refer to the Federal grant-making agency for the most comprehensive and up-to-date information on a grant opportunity in the Dashboard.

Last updated Date: