Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

The latest general information on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) is available on For USDOT specific COVID-19 resources, please visit our page.

Key Executives

Meet Our Team

Cordell Schachter
Chief Information Officer
Cordell Schachter serves as the principal advisor to the Secretary of Transportation on matters involving information technology. He oversees the Department of Transportation’s (DOT) annual $3.5 billion information technology (IT) portfolio and ensures all IT projects and investments are planned, implemented, and delivered according to government best practices. Mr. Schachter leads the department’s efforts to transform DOT by creating smart technology solutions, promoting innovation, and strengthening DOT’s cybersecurity.

Jack Albright
Deputy Chief Information Officer and Associate Chief Information Officer for IT Shared Services
Jack Albright is responsible for providing the full range of core departmental commodity IT business enabling capabilities including data center, network, help desk, Internet, email, desktop, mobile, server, storage, telecommunications, wireless, security, and cloud services through Infrastructure, Platform, and Software as a Service offerings.

Andrew Orndorff
Associate Chief Information Officer and Chief Information Security Officer
Andrew Orndorff is the Associate Chief Information Officer for Cybersecurity and Information Assurance, and is Chief Information Security Officer, responsible for anticipating and responding to cyber threats and improving the cybersecurity posture and capabilities of the DOT framework.

Last updated: Thursday, October 7, 2021