Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities Program

General Grant Program Information

The Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities (BRIC) Program provides funding to support eligible entities undertaking pre-disaster and hazard mitigation projects or capability and capacity building (C&CB) activities to reduce their risks from disasters and natural hazards. BRIC also provides financial assistance to help entities manage the costs of these endeavors and non-financial, direct technical assistance. 

Opportunity Status:
Posted Date:
Close Date:
Eligible Applicants:
State Governments; Local Governments; Federally Recognized Tribes and Affiliated Groups
Eligible Activities:
Planning; Construction; Climate and Sustainability; Accessibility; Security
Transportation Type:
Air Maritime Railway Roadway Transit
Most Recent Annual Program Funding Amount:
Annual Award Amount:
$1 Million - $50 Million
Cost Sharing or Matching Requirement:
Match Waiver:
Rural Set-Aside:
Tribal Set-Aside:
Grant Opportunity ID:
Grant Opportunity Link:
Links to Additional Information:
Other Federal Agencies / U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS)

Eligibility Information

The BRIC program aims to shift the federal focus away from reactive disaster recovery spending and toward research-supported, proactive investment in community resilience. Eligible uses include infrastructure projects and other means of protecting community lifelines. 

Eligible applicants include the following: 

  • States or U.S. territories that have received a major disaster declaration under the Stafford Act in the past 7 years
  • Federally recognized Tribes that have either received a major disaster declaration under the Stafford Act in the past 7 years or federally recognized Tribes, Tribal agencies, local governments, and state agencies located in a state that has received this declaration

Funding Information

The 2021 NOFO stated that the funding amounts for States/U.S. territories is $1 million, with a maximum $500,000 used for mitigation planning and planning-related activities, $1 million per Tribal set-aside (combined cost of Tribal applicants’ C&CB building activities), and $50 million per sub-application to the National Competition. 

Economically disadvantaged rural communities are eligible for a cost share of 90 percent federal/10 percent non-federal, and the cost-sharing requirement is waived if recipient applies for an insular area (e.g., Guam) and the project is less than $200,000. For all other applicants, the cost share for this program is 75 percent federal/25 percent non-federal (of any source). FEMA covers 100 percent of applicants’ management costs.

Contact Information

Centralized Scheduling and Information Desk (CSID)
(800) 368-6498

The Dashboard provides users with a high-level overview of relevant Federal discretionary grant programs. The information in the Dashboard is maintained as a secondary resource and may not be updated with the most recent changes to each program's primary guidance materials. Accordingly, please refer to the Federal grant-making agency for the most comprehensive and up-to-date information on a grant opportunity in the Dashboard.

Last updated: Tuesday, April 18, 2023