Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

The latest general information on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) is available on For USDOT specific COVID-19 resources, please visit our page.

Recent Time Zone Proceedings

This Web page includes a list of recent time zone proceedings and links to the final rules from those proceedings.  To view the final rule in each proceeding, click on the date next to the description of the proceeding you would like to view.


  • 2007 – Knox, Daviess, Martin, Pike, and Dubois Counties were relocated from central to eastern time.  Perry County remained in central time.

  • 2007 – Pulaski County was relocated from central to eastern time.

  • 2006 – Starke, Pulaski, Knox, Daviess, Martin, Pike, Dubois, and Perry Counties were relocated from eastern to central time.  St. Joseph, Marshall, Fulton, Benton, White, Carroll, Cass, Vermillion, Sullivan, and Lawrence Counties remained in eastern time.


  • 2000 – Wayne County was relocated from central to eastern time.

Guam and Northern Mariana Islands

  • 2003 – The Chamorro Time Zone was established. 


  • 1999 – The City of West Wendover was relocated from Pacific to mountain time.

North Dakota

  • 2010 – Mercer County was relocated from mountain to central time.

  • 2003 – Morton County and a small part of Sioux County were relocated from mountain to central Time.

South Dakota

  • 2003 – Mellette, Todd, and the western part of Jones County were relocated from mountain time to central time.

Last updated: Wednesday, June 6, 2012