Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Serious Injury Reporting

The Federal Highway Administration’s (FHWA) Safety Performance Management Measures Final Rule (23 CFR 490) and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s (NHTSA) Uniform Procedures for State Highway Safety Grants Program Interim Final Rule (23 CFR 1300) establish a single, national definition for States to report serious injuries per the Model Minimum Uniform Crash Criteria (MMUCC) 4th Edition “Suspected Serious Injury (A)” attribute found in the “Injury Status” element.

States are required to comply with the new definition by April 15, 2019. However, it is recommended that States begin using the MMUCC 4th Edition definition and attribute beginning January 2019 or earlier in order to have a complete and consistent crash data file for the entire 2019 calendar year.

FHWA Division Offices and NHTSA Regional Offices stand ready to assist States in implementing the changes required by these new rules. FHWA and NHTSA are developing a suite of technical assistance products, including the FAQ, tip sheets, and training video linked below. More items will be posted here as they are produced. For specific questions, please contact your FHWA Division Office or your NHTSA Regional Office.


Last updated: Thursday, May 25, 2017