Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Equal Employment Opportunity

EEO Complaint Process

The Equal Employment Opportunity Complaint Process guidelines are enforced by the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. The process is derived from EEOC Management Directive 110 and 29 CFR 1614.

EEO complaints of discrimination are taken seriously at the Department of Transportation. No employees can be discriminated against due to their protected class such as: race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, handicap, or sexual orientation (for more information see discrimination) or due to reprisal (see the NO FEAR ACT).

There are four primary phases in the EEO discrimination complaint process. The first three phases, informal/counseling, formal complaint, and appeal, are all part of the EEOC administrative process. The final phase starts the judicial process.

These phases are hierarchical, meaning one phase must usually be exhausted before the next phase can be started. A complaint that does not follow this hierarchy will be remanded to an earlier phase. If specific time limits under EEOC regulations have been exceeded, your complaint may continue on to the next phase.

EEO Library

Use the provided DOT policies, laws, regulations, and websites taken from the Civil Rights Library to research equal employment opportunity in the federal sector.

Last updated: Monday, April 26, 2021