Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Policy Statement on the No FEAR Act

The Notification and Federal Employee Antidiscrimination and Retaliation Act of 2002 (No FEAR Act), as amended by the Elijah E. Cummings Federal Employee Antidiscrimination Act of 2020, requires Federal agencies to keep their employees, former employees, and applicants for employment informed of their antidiscrimination and whistleblower protections; post quarterly statistics on their websites; and train all employees regarding the rights and remedies to which they are entitled under the law. Federal agencies are required to submit annual reports to Congress demonstrating their compliance with the law not later than 180 days after the end of each fiscal year.

It is the U.S. Department of Transportation’s policy to prohibit employment discrimination, interference, or retaliation for protected disclosures. I fully support the principles of the No FEAR Act, and I am committed to providing a workplace environment that is welcoming to all.

Our Departmental Office of Civil Rights and Office of the Assistant Secretary for Administration are responsible for ensuring proper implementation of the No FEAR Act. I expect all departmental organizations and leaders to support these offices and to champion these important responsibilities. You may obtain further information regarding the No FEAR Act by contacting our Departmental Office of Civil Rights for assistance or by visiting

Pete Buttigieg

Last updated: Monday, May 3, 2021