Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

The latest general information on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) is available on For USDOT specific COVID-19 resources, please visit our page.

OST-R's Key Officials

Office of the Assistant Secretary
Assistant Secretary, Vacant
Deputy Assistant Secretary, Diana Furchtgott-Roth read more
Senior Advisor for Economic Policy, Ted Boll
Senior Advisor for Research and Technology, Steve Polzin
Senior Advisor to the Deputy Assistant Secretary, Aaron Wolff

Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Director, Patricia S. Hu
Deputy Director, Dr. Rolf Schmitt
Public Affairs Contact, David Smallen

Intelligent Transportation Systems Joint Program Office
Director, Kenneth Leonard

National Coordination Office, Space-Based Positioning, Navigation and Timing
Director, Harold W. "Stormy" Martin III

Office of Positioning, Navigation and Timing & Spectrum Management
Director, Karen Van Dyke

Office of Research, Development and Technology

Office of Technology Policy and Outreach
Director, Timothy Klein

Transportation Safety Institute
Director, Dr. Troy Jackson 
Senior Liaison, Christine Lawrence

John A. Volpe National Transportation Systems Center
Director, Anne D. Aylward
Deputy Director for Research & Technology, Dr. Steven M. Popkin
Deputy Director for Operations, Susan M. "Sue" Connors
Director, Center for Safety Management & Human Factors, Maura Lohrenz
Director, Center for Policy, Planning & Environment, Gregg Fleming
Director, Center for Infrastructure Systems & Technology, Luisa Paiewonsky
Director, Center for Air Traffic Systems & Operations, Gregory G. Joyner

Public Affairs Contacts: 
BTS – 202-366-5568
All other OST-R offices – 202-366-5128 

Learn more about our activities

View our Organization Chart

OST-R organizational chart



Last updated: Tuesday, August 18, 2020