Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

FAA Emergency Notification System (ENS)

Federal Aviation Administration's (FAA) Emergency Notification System (ENS) uses the AtHoc Network Communication Suite (AtHoc Suite) to provide alert notifications during all hazards, threats, and emergencies to FAA employees and contractors. Other federal agencies, tenant organizations in FAA facilities, non‐FAA students at the FAA Academy, and certain state/local agencies (hereinafter referred to as external recipients) may also opt to receive alert notifications from the FAA. ENS uses AtHoc Suite, a cloud‐based service operated by AtHoc, a division of Blackberry, which provides the ability to send alert notifications, and in some circumstances, receive responses via an internet connection. ENS is administered and maintained by the FAA’s Office of Security and Hazardous Materials Safety (ASH), National Security Programs and Incident Response, Command and Control Communications Division (AXE‐400). This Privacy Impact Assessment was developed in accordance with Section 208 of the E‐Government Act of 2002, because the FAA collects personally from members of the public in order to provide them alerts via ENS.

DOT is committed to ensuring that information is available in appropriate alternative formats to meet the requirements of persons who have a disability. If you require an alternative version of files provided on this page, please contact
Last updated: Thursday, February 28, 2019