Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Emergency Notification System (ENS)

The FAA’s Office of Security and Hazardous Materials Safety (ASH) Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Emergency Notification System (ENS) uses the AtHoc Network Communication Suite (AtHoc Suite) to provide alert notifications during all hazards, threats, and emergencies to FAA employees and contractors. Other federal agencies, tenant organizations in FAA facilities, non‐FAA students at the FAA Academy, and certain state/local agencies (hereinafter referred to as external recipients) may also opt to receive alert notifications from the FAA. ENS operates under the following authorities: Public Law 93-366; Public Law 112-95 Section 3337; 49 United States Code (U.S.C.) 401018; 49 U.S.C. 401039; National Communications System Directive (NCSD) 3-1010, Minimum Requirements for Continuity Communications Capabilities; National Security Presidential Directive (NSPD) 5111 and Homeland Security Presidential Directive (HSPD) 2012: National Continuity Policy Federal Continuity Directive (FCD) 113 and FCD 21.

The FAA is publishing this Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) for ENS in accordance with Section 208 of the E-Government Act of 2002 because the system processes Personally Identifiable Information (PII) from members of the public, including non-FAA Federal, state, and local government employees/contractors who receive FAA emergency and non-emergency notifications.

DOT is committed to ensuring that information is available in appropriate alternative formats to meet the requirements of persons who have a disability. If you require an alternative version of files provided on this page, please contact
Last updated: Wednesday, January 17, 2024