Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

ADA at DOT: Accessibility Initiatives

According to the National Household Travel survey, 25.5 million Americans have travel-limiting disabilities. From day one, the Biden-Harris Administration named equity an immediate priority and established a whole-of-government approach to advancing equity and opportunity.

The U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) is taking a comprehensive approach to advance equity for all, including individuals with disabilities and others who have been historically underserved and adversely affected by persistent poverty or income inequality.

In July 2022, during a celebration of the anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), the Department adopted a set of Disability Policy Priorities to help increase access for people with disabilities. This includes a set of priority actions to enable safe and accessible air travel. Stay tuned as we share more about these priorities and our progress.

We are also working to implement the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law (BIL) to ensure accessibility across the nation’s transportation system. The All Stations Accessibility Program and appointment of at least one member with a disability to the Amtrak Board of Directors are among the many provisions in BIL focused on advancing access and opportunity for people with disabilities.

We invite you to learn more about DOT’s accessibility initiatives, engage with the Department, and stay connected to learn about future opportunities.