Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

The latest general information on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) is available on For USDOT specific COVID-19 resources, please visit our page.

U.S. Department of Transportation Names Newest FAA Management Advisory Council Members

Tuesday, December 22, 2020

WASHINGTON— The U.S. Department of Transportation today announced the appointment of two new members and the reappointment of five current members to the Federal Aviation Administration's 13-member Management Advisory Council (MAC). The MAC advises the FAA's senior management on policy, spending, long-range planning, and regulatory matters.

“The FAA’s MAC provides our agency with comprehensive advice from government and private industry experts to help us ensure the U.S. maintains the safest, most efficient aerospace system in the world,” said FAA Administrator Stephen M. Dickson.
The MAC's newest members continue to represent a cross-section of public and private sector transportation and business leaders. They include:

  • Peter Bunce, President and Chief Executive Officer of the General Aviation Manufacturers Association 
  • Derek Kan, former Deputy Director of the Office of Management and Budget, and former Under Secretary of Transportation for Policy at the U.S. Department of Transportation

Today's new MAC appointees are joined by five reappointed members:

  • Donna McLean, former DOT Assistant Secretary for Budget and Programs, and Chief Financial Officer, George W. Bush Administration
  • Will Ris, former SVP, Government Affairs, American Airlines
  • Jeff Shane, former DOT Under Secretary of Transportation for Policy, George W. Bush Administration
  • Huntley Lawrence, Director, Aviation Department - The Port Authority of New York & New Jersey
  • Brian Wynne, CEO, Association for Unmanned Vehicle Systems International 

Created by the Federal Aviation Reauthorization Act of 1996, the MAC meets quarterly.  MAC members serve three-year terms in a voluntary capacity and retain their public and private sector positions.