Official US Government Icon

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.

Secure Site Icon

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

The latest general information on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) is available on For USDOT specific COVID-19 resources, please visit our page.

U.S. Department of Transportation Announces Regulatory Reform Task Force and Officer

Friday, May 26, 2017

WASHINGTON - Today the U.S. Department of Transportation announced Deputy Secretary Jeffrey Rosen will serve as the Department’s Regulatory Reform Officer and Chairman of the Department’s Regulatory Reform Task Force (RRTF).  The RRTF was formed earlier this year in accordance with President Trump’s Executive Order 13777, which directs each agency to establish an RRTF to make recommendations to alleviate unnecessary regulatory burdens. 

U.S. Transportation Secretary Elaine L. Chao has directed the RRTF to consider ways to accomplish DOT’s primary safety objectives in less burdensome ways and to further review “midnight rules” that were issued at the end of the last Administration.