Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Readout of Biden Administration Meeting with Automaker Leaders on EV Charging Infrastructure

Wednesday, April 6, 2022

Today, Transportation Secretary Pete Buttigieg, Energy Secretary Jennifer Granholm, National Climate Advisor Gina McCarthy, and Senior Advisor and Infrastructure Coordinator Mitch Landrieu convened major automotive leaders to discuss deploying electric vehicles (EV) and chargers across America. President Biden’s Bipartisan Infrastructure Law made a historic $7.5 billion investment to create a national network of 500,000 chargers – ensuring all Americans have access to affordable EV charging options, no matter where they live.

The Biden-Harris Administration officials were grateful to hear from private sector leaders who are on the front lines of our electric transformation, working to deliver accessible, convenient, and reliable charging to Americans across the country. Administration and automaker leaders agreed that EV charging is an essential public good and are committed to achieving President Biden’s goal of 50% EVs by 2030. Automaker leaders emphasized the key role of government and industry working collaboratively to ensure a reliable national EV charging network that could support all Americans in all communities as well as a domestic supply chain for batteries and critical materials that will power our future transportation system. There was broad consensus that charging stations and vehicles need to be interoperable and provide a seamless user experience, no matter what car you drive or where you charge your EV.

The Administration officials expressed their continued commitment to broad stakeholder engagement to inform scaling up EV infrastructure and to meet our goals of an affordable, equitable, and convenient charging network. The Administration has held 15 stakeholder sessions, received more than 500 comments through an informational portal, and has established a Joint Office of Energy and Transportation to serve as a one-stop shop for input and technical assistance.
Participants included:

  • Mary Barra, CEO, General Motors
  • Jose Munoz Barcelo, President and CEO, Hyundai Motor America
  • Thomas J. Doll, CEO, Subaru of America
  • Jim Farley, President and CEO, Ford Motor Company
  • Jeffery Guyton, President and CEO, Mazda
  • Elon Musk, CEO, Tesla
  • Tetusuo “Ted” Ogawa, President and CEO, Toyota Motor North America
  • Jérémie Papin, Chairperson, Nissan Americas
  • Dmitris Psillakis, CEO, Mercedes-Benz USA
  • Peter Rawlinson, CEO, Lucid
  • Carlos Tavares, CEO, Stellantis
  • SeungKyu (Sean) Yoon, President and CEO, Kia Motors America