Press Release

You are here

News Digest

DOT 115-10

New Advisory Council on Transportation Statistics Members Named - U.S. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood has appointed nine new members to the Bureau of Transportation Statistics’ (BTS) 11-member Advisory Council on Transportation Statistics (ACTS). BTS is a part of the U.S. Department of Transportation’s Research and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA). Required by statute, ACTS’ function is to advise on transportation statistics and analyses, including whether the statistics and analysis that BTS disseminates are of high quality and are based upon the best available objective information. Members named for three-year terms were Barbara Fraumeni, professor of public policy and chair of the Public Policy and Management Department, University of Southern Maine; Hermann Habermann, former chief of statistical policy, Office of Management and Budget; Alicia Carriquiry, distinguished professor, Department of Statistics and Statistical Laboratory, Iowa State University; Paul Jovanis, professor of civil and environmental engineering, Pennsylvania State University; David Lee, managing director - economics, Airlines for America; Joseph Schofer, associate dean, professor, and director of the Infrastructure Technology Institute, Northwestern University; and Michael Walton, Ernest H. Cockrell Centennial Chair of Engineering, University of Texas, Austin. Named for two-year terms were Leanna Depue, director, Highway Safety Division, Missouri Department of Transportation and Michael Replogle, managing director for policy and founder, Institute for Transportation & Development Policy. Holdover appointees with terms through March 2013 are the current chair John-Paul Clarke, associate professor, Schools of Aerospace Engineering and Industrial and Systems Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology and Christina Casgar, goods movement policy manager, San Diego Association of Governments (SANDAG). The panel’s next meeting is scheduled for Dec. 12. ACTS is subject to the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA). Contact: Dave Smallen: 202-366-5568.


Updated: Friday, October 12, 2012
Submit Feedback >