Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

The latest general information on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) is available on For USDOT specific COVID-19 resources, please visit our page.

Midwest Regional Bicycle Safety Summit Agenda


9:30 – 10:00        Welcome Panel

  • Beth Osborne, U.S. DOT Deputy Assistant Secretary for Transportation Policy
  • David Strickland, National Highway Traffic Safety Administrator
  • Joan Pasiuk, Transit for Livable Communities

10:00 – 11:15     Engineering

  • Moderator: Shaun Murphy, City of Minneapolis
  • Tim Mitchell, Minnesota DOT
  • Steve Clark, Bike Walk Twin Cities

10:00 – 11:15     Enforcement and Education

  • Moderator: David Strickland, NHTSA Administrator
  • Officer Danny McCullough, Three Rivers Park District
  • Tom Sorel, AAA
  • Andy Clarke, League of American Bicyclists

11:15 – 11:30      Break

11:30 - 12:45  Encouragement

  • Moderator: Dorian Grilley, Bike Alliance of Minnesota
  • Doug Shinkle, NCSL
  • Steve Sanders, University of Minnesota
  • Bill Dossett, Nice Ride Minnesota

11:30 - 12:45  Evaluation & Planning

  • Moderator: Beth Osborne, US DOT
  • Simon Blenski, City of Minneapolis
  • Jennifer Dill, Portland State University
  • Josh DeBruyn, University of Michigan


12:45  Lunch on your own

12:45 – 5:00  Bicycle Safety Expo

 See a list of vendors

3:00 – 5:00  Bike Tours of Minneapolis

3.25 mile ride. Bikes to be provided by Nice Ride.

Last updated: Wednesday, January 7, 2015