DOT Fines Delta for Violating Baggage Liability Limit Rule.
The U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) today assessed a civil penalty of $100,000 against Delta Air Lines for failing to comply with the Department’s minimum baggage liability rule. An investigation by DOT’s Aviation Enforcement Office found that Delta earlier this year had distributed a pamphlet to consumers stating that the carrier would not reimburse passengers’ expenses for delayed baggage if the bags were expected to reach the passenger within 24 hours. The pamphlet also said the carrier would limit reimbursements for passengers’ necessities to $25 per day after the first 24 hours the bags were missing, with a maximum payment of $125, while a passenger is away from his or her residence. The Department’s investigation determined that a significant number of consumers were denied full reimbursement for claims based on that policy. This violated the Department’s rule which prohibits carriers from limiting their liability for provable damages for lost, damaged or delayed baggage to less than $3,300 per passenger. Today’s consent order follows an Oct. 9, 2009 guidance document issued by the Enforcement Office advising the airline industry that a number of carriers were improperly limiting reimbursements for mishandled baggage and that the Department would take enforcement action against airlines that did not correct their baggage compensation policies. The consent order is available on the Internet at www.regulations.gov, docket DOT-OST-2010-0005.
Daylight Saving Time to End Sunday, Nov. 7, for Most Americans.
Most of the nation will return to standard time at 2 a.m. on Sunday, Nov. 7, when clocks will be turned back one hour, providing an additional hour of daylight in the morning. Under law, daylight saving time is observed from the second Sunday in March to the first Sunday in November, with the nation returning to daylight saving time starting Sunday, March 13, 2011. Prior to legislation that took effect in 2007, daylight saving time was observed from the first Sunday in April to the last Sunday in October. Federal law does not require any area to observe daylight time, but those that do must follow the starting and ending dates set by the law. No resetting of clocks is required for those parts of the country not observing daylight time: Arizona, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Guam and the Northern Marianas. The U.S. Department of Transportation has overseen the time laws since 1966, when Congress transferred this responsibility from the Interstate Commerce Commission.
U.S. Department of Transportation Accepting Applications for Marine Transportation System National Advisory Council.
The Maritime Administration is accepting applications from prospective members who wish to participate in the Marine Transportation System National Advisory Council. MTSNAC advises and makes policy recommendations on the effective use and expansion of America’s Marine Highways; waterways and ports, and related intermodal, road, rail, and marine highway connections. Application must be received by November 17, 2010. Additional information can be found in the federal register notice at www.federalregister.gov Docket Number: 2010-26092