Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.



Historically Black Colleges & Universities (HBCUs), Minority Serving Institutions (MSIs), and Tribal Colleges & Universities (TCUs) UTCs under FAST Act

The University Transportation Centers (UTC) Program continues to strengthen its partnership and engage with HBCUs, MSIs, and TCUs by increasing research opportunities for institutions and advancing economic and educational opportunities in transportation. The following minority institutions are currently part of the UTC Program under Fixing America's Surface Transportation (FAST) Act of 2016 and additional competitions held in 2018 and 2020:


  • Alabama A&M University    
  • Benedict College    
  • Central State University    
  • Hampton University
  • Howard University
  • Jackson State University
  • Lincoln University (Missouri)
  • Morgan State University (UTC Lead)
  • North Carolina A&T State University (UTC Lead)
  • Prairie View A&M University
  • South Carolina State University
  • Southern University
  • Tennessee State University
  • Texas Southern University


  • California State University, Long Beach 
  • California State University, Los Angeles 
  • City University of New York
  • Florida Atlantic University (UTC Lead)
  • Florida International University (UTC Lead)
  • New Mexico State University 
  • Northern Arizona University 
  • Portland State University (UTC Lead)
  • San Diego State University
  • San Jose State University (UTC Lead)
  • University of Alaska, Fairbanks (UTC Lead)
  • University of California, Irvine 
  • University of California, Riverside
  • University of Hawaii, Manoa 
  • University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UTC Lead)
  • University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez 
  • University of Texas, Arlington (UTC Lead)
  • University of Texas, El Paso


  • Navajo Technical University
  • Nebraska Indian Community College

1White House Initiative on Advancing Educational Equity, Excellence, and Economic Opportunity through Historically Black Colleges and Universities

220 U.S.C. 1067k(3) defines a minority institution as an institution of higher education whose enrollment of a single minority or a combination of minorities exceeds 50% enrollment. Minority means American Indian, Alaskan Native, Black (not of Hispanic origin), Hispanic (including persons of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, and Central or South American origin), Pacific Islander, or other ethnic group underrepresented in science and engineering. (20 U.S.C. 1067(k)(2))

3White House Initiative on Advancing Educational Equity, Excellence, and Economic Opportunity for Native Americans and Strengthening Tribal Colleges and Universities

NOTE: Determination of an institution’s status as a minority institution was based on self-reported enrollment figures from each Institution.

UTC Logo 1987 to 2026