Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


photo of black college students studying


Historically Black Colleges & Universities (HBCUs), Minority Serving Institutions (MSIs), and Tribal Colleges & Universities (TCUs) UTCs under Bipartisan Infrastructure Law (BIL) 

The University Transportation Centers (UTC) Program continues to strengthen its partnership and engage with HBCUs, MSIs, and TCUs by increasing research opportunities for institutions and advancing economic and educational opportunities in transportation. Funded by the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law (BIL), there are five National, ten Regional and twenty Tier One UTCs, which will respectively receive $4 million, $3 million and $2 million annually for five years.

Prairie View A&M University made history as the first HBCU to become a National UTC grantee. An additional four HBCUs lead consortia of UTCs selected for an award, and another five consortia members are Hispanic-Serving Institutions/Minority Serving Institutions (MSIs). Overall, there are a record number of HBCUs, MSIs, and Tribal colleges participating this year.

The following minority institutions are currently part of the UTC Program under BIL (lead institutions are indicated in bold):


  • Benedict College
  • Central State University
  • Florida A&M University (lead)
  • Howard University (lead)
  • Jackson State University 
  • Morehouse School of Medicine
  • Morgan State University (lead)
  • North Carolina A&T State University (lead)
  • Prairie View A&M University (lead)
  • South Carolina State University
  • Tennessee State University
  • Texas Southern University


  • Bunker Hill Community College
  • California State Polytechnic University Pomona
  • California State University Long Beach
  • Chicago State University 
  • City College of New York (HSI lead)
  • Community College of Philadelphia
  • CUNY Bronx Community College
  • CUNY New York City College of Technology
  • El Paso Community College
  • Florida Atlantic University
  • Florida International University (HSI lead)
  • South Texas College
  • Texas A&M University Corpus Christi
  • Texas State University (HSI lead)
  • University of Illinois Chicago
  • University of Nevada Las Vegas
  • University of New Mexico (HSI lead)
  • University of Puerto Rico Mayaguez
  • University of Texas El Paso 
  • University of Texas Rio Grande Valley (HSI lead)
  • University of Texas San Antonio


  • Diné College
  • Navajo Technical University
  • Nebraska Indian Community College
  • Northwest Indian College
  • White Earth Tribal & Community College

1White House Initiative on Advancing Educational Equity, Excellence, and Economic Opportunity through Historically Black Colleges and Universities

220 U.S.C. 1067k(3) defines a minority institution as an institution of higher education whose enrollment of a single minority or a combination of minorities exceeds 50% enrollment. Minority means American Indian, Alaskan Native, Black (not of Hispanic origin), Hispanic (including persons of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, and Central or South American origin), Pacific Islander, or other ethnic group underrepresented in science and engineering. (20 U.S.C. 1067(k)(2))

3White House Initiative on Advancing Educational Equity, Excellence, and Economic Opportunity for Native Americans and Strengthening Tribal Colleges and Universities

4Hispanic Serving Institutions is based on enrollment of undergraduate full-time equivalent students that is at least 25 percent Hispanic students at the end of the award year Hispanic-Serving Institutions (HSIs) | White House Initiative on Advancing Educational Equity, Excellence, and Economic Opportunity for Hispanics

NOTE: Determination of an institution’s status as a minority institution was based on self-reported enrollment figures from each Institution.

UTC Torch logo