You are here

Model Minimum Uniform Crash Criteria (MMUCC)

The Model Minimum Uniform Crash Criteria Guideline (MMUCC) is a minimum, standardized data set for describing motor vehicle crashes and the vehicles, persons and environment involved. The Guideline is designed to generate the information necessary to improve highway safety within each state and nationally. This data set, originally published in the MMUCC Guideline, 1st Edition (1998), has been revised three times, most recently in the 4th Edition (2012), in response to emerging highway safety issues. The 5th Edition is scheduled for a Summer 2017 release.

Because MMUCC is voluntary States often use different formats and names for data elements and attributes or they may combine (or split) MMUCC elements and attributes. As a result, it can be very difficult to compare or share crash data among States, between State and Federal data sets, and—in some cases—even between different agencies within a State.

To assist States in evaluating their consistency with MMUCC, NHTSA and GHSA developed a methodology for mapping the data collected on crash reports and the data entered and maintained on crash databases to the data elements and attributes in the MMUCC Guideline. This methodology is intended to standardize how States compare both their crash reports and their crash databases to MMUCC.

For more information on MMUCC, please email

Updated: Monday, May 1, 2017
Submit Feedback >