Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

The latest general information on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) is available on For USDOT specific COVID-19 resources, please visit our page.

What is a Merchant Category Code (MCC)?

A MCC is a four digit number assigned to a business by Visa or Master Card. It is used to classify the business by the type of goods or services it provides. Public transportation providers have specific MCCs they use when selling transit passes.

The TRANServe Card accepts the following Merchant Category Codes:

  •  4789 (Transportation Services)
  •  4131 (Bus Lines)
  •  4111 (Commuter Transport, Ferries)
  •  4112 (Passenger Railways)
Last updated: Friday, May 26, 2017