Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation Announces Biden Appointees Ready to Work on Behalf of the American People

Thursday, January 21, 2021

WASHINGTON – Today, the Biden Administration announced key members of its U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) leadership, many of whom are already at work in the opening days of the new Administration. This diverse and experienced team will bring unique perspective and vast expertise to the job. This group will help USDOT civil servants already hard at work on behalf of the American people advance President Biden’s agenda to build our country back better. With the safety of the traveling public and America’s workers at the center of its mission, the team will work toward economic recovery, racial equity, and combating climate change.

“This experienced team looks forward to getting right to work on behalf of the American people to deliver on policies and projects that will create jobs, equitably serve all Americans, and meet the climate crisis,” said Carlos Monje Jr., Senior Advisor to the Secretary and acting Chief of Staff. “President Biden has been clear: stronger infrastructure is a key to building our country back better than it was before.”

Lana Hurdle, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Budget & Programs, will serve as Acting Secretary of Transportation until Secretary-Designate Buttigieg is confirmed. While additional people will be named later, the initial team (starting on January 20 or soon after) includes:

Amit Bose, Deputy Administrator, Federal Railroad Administration
Ann Carlson, Chief Counsel, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Florence Chen, Special Assistant for Policy

Casey Clemmons, Special Assistant, Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration

Steve Cliff, Deputy Administrator, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Christopher Coes, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Transportation Policy
Nuria Fernandez, Deputy Administrator, Federal Transit Administration

Robert Hampshire, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Research and Technology

Maurice Henderson, Senior Advisor

Danielle Hirshberg, Deputy Chief of Staff for Operations
Justine Hong, Director of Executive Secretariat
Robin Hutcheson, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Safety Policy
Subash Iyer, Chief Counsel, Federal Transit Administration
Meera Joshi, Deputy Administrator, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
Tatjana Kunz, Special Assistant for Policy
Lucinda Lessley, Deputy Administrator, Maritime Administration
Diana Lopez, Senior Advisor to the Administrator, Federal Railroad Administration
Irene Marion, Director, Departmental Office of Civil Rights
Edward McGlone, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Congressional Affairs (House)
Philip A. McNamara, Assistant Secretary for Administration 
A. Bradley Mims, Deputy Administrator, Federal Aviation Administration
Carlos Monje Jr., Senior Advisor and Acting Chief of Staff
Allie Panther, White House Liaison
Alex A. Peña, Special Assistant to the General Counsel
Carol A. (Annie) Petsonk, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Aviation and International Affairs
Stephanie Pollack, Deputy Administrator, Federal Highway Administration
John Putnam, Deputy General Counsel
Will Rasky, Special Assistant for Governmental Affairs
Courtenay Raymond, Director of Scheduling and Advance
Andrew Rogers, Chief Counsel, Federal Highway Administration 
Laura Schiller, Chief of Staff
Michael Shapiro, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Economic Policy
Sophie Shulman, Deputy Chief of Staff for Policy
Dani Simons, Assistant to the Secretary and Director of Public Affairs 
Charles Small, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Intergovernmental Affairs
Mohsin Syed, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Congressional Affairs (Senate) 
Charlene Wang, Special Assistant, Federal Highway Administration
Victoria Baecher Wassmer, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Finance and Budget 
Vinn White, Senior Advisor for Implementation 
Laurence Wildgoose, Assistant Administrator for Policy, International Affairs, and Environment, Federal Aviation Administration