Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

The latest general information on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) is available on For USDOT specific COVID-19 resources, please visit our page.

RAISE Areas of Persistent Poverty

An “Area of Persistent Poverty” is defined for the RAISE grant program by the 2021 Consolidated Appropriations Act. A project is located in an Area of Persistent Poverty for the RAISE grant program if :

(1) the County in which the project is located consistently had greater than or equal to 20 percent of the population living in poverty in all three of the following datasets: (a) the 1990 decennial census; (b) the 2000 decennial census; and (c) the 2019 Small Area Income Poverty Dataset; OR

(2) the Census Tract in which the project is located has a poverty rate of at least 20 percent as measured by the 2014-2018 5-year data series available from the American Community Survey of the Bureau of the Census; OR

(3) the project is located in any territory or possession of the United States.

USDOT has prepared a table to help applicants identify if a project meets the definition for a County or Census Tract. To determine the State, County, and Census Tract Associated with your Project’s Location, input your Project’s Primary Address into the U.S. Census’ Geocoder Tool. This document provides instructions on how to use the U.S. Census Geocoder Tool.

Please note: the FY 2021 definition for Area of Persistent Poverty may different from other DOT programs, including the FY 2020 FTA Hope Discretionary Grant program.

Last updated: Tuesday, April 13, 2021