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DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

Office of the Secretary 

14 CFR Parts 250 and 254 

[Docket DOT–OST–2020–0251] 

RIN 2105–AE81 

Implementing Certain Provisions of the 
TICKETS Act and Revisions to Denied 
Boarding Compensation and Domestic 
Baggage Liability Limits 

AGENCY: Office of the Secretary (OST), 
Department of Transportation (DOT). 
ACTION: Final rule. 

SUMMARY: This final rule amends the 
U.S. Department of Transportation’s (or 
the Department’s) oversales rule by 
clarifying that the maximum amount of 
Denied Boarding Compensation (DBC) 
that a carrier may provide to a passenger 
denied boarding involuntarily is not 
limited, and by prohibiting airlines from 
involuntarily denying boarding to a 
passenger after the passenger’s boarding 
pass has been collected or scanned and 
the passenger has boarded, subject to 
safety and security exceptions. Further, 
pursuant to existing regulations, this 
final rule raises the liability limits for 
denied boarding compensation that U.S. 
and foreign air carriers may impose 
from the current figures of $675 and 
$1,350 to $775 and $1,550. Also, in 
accordance with existing regulations, 
this final rule raises the liability limit 
U.S. carriers may impose for 
mishandled baggage in domestic air 
transportation, adjusting the limit of 
liability from the current amount of 
$3,500 to $3,800. 
DATES: This rule is effective on April 13, 
2021. 
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: 
Clereece Kroha, Senior Attorney, Office 
of the General Counsel, Department of 
Transportation, 1200 New Jersey Ave. 
SE, Washington, DC 20590; 202–366– 
9041, clereece.kroha@dot.gov. 
SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: 

I. Clarifying That the Department’s 
Oversales Rule Does Not Limit the 
Maximum Amount of DBC Carriers 
May Offer to Passengers Denied 
Boarding Involuntarily, and Related 
Provisions 

Section 425(e) of the FAA 
Reauthorization Act of 2018 (Pub. L. 
115–254, October 5, 2018), which 
includes the Transparency 
Improvements and Compensation to 
Keep Every Ticketholder Safe Act of 
2018 (TICKETS Act), requires the 
Department to complete a rulemaking to 
clarify that (1) there is no maximum 

level of compensation an air carrier or 
foreign air carrier may pay to a 
passenger who is involuntarily denied 
boarding as the result of an oversold 
flight, and (2) the DBC compensation 
levels set forth in the regulation are the 
minimum levels of compensation an air 
carrier or foreign air carrier must pay to 
a passenger who is involuntarily denied 
boarding as the result of an oversold 
flight. ‘‘Maximum’’ DBC amount and 
DBC ‘‘limit’’ are terms found in various 
provisions of the Department’s oversales 
rule in 14 CFR part 250. The concept of 
‘‘maximum’’ DBC amount that a carrier 
is required to pay and a ‘‘limit’’ imposed 
on DBC calculation results were 
intended to (1) ensure passengers 
involuntarily denied boarding receive, 
at a minimum, a DBC amount required 
by the regulation when the DBC 
calculation resulted in a higher amount; 
and (2) allow carriers to impose a limit 
on the amount that they are liable for 
compensating eligible passengers in the 
event of involuntary denied boarding, if 
carriers choose to do so. Part 250 was 
never intended to prohibit carriers from 
voluntarily paying an amount of DBC 
that is higher than the ‘‘maximum’’ DBC 
amounts or DBC ‘‘limits’’ set forth in 
part 250. 

Although during the many decades 
since the promulgation of the oversales 
rule, the Department has seen no 
evidence of industry confusion about 
the meaning of these terms, by passing 
the TICKETS Act, Congress is requiring 
DOT to revise the rule for clarity to 
avoid any potential public confusion 
about whether carriers may choose to 
pay a higher amount of DBC. 
Accordingly, in this final rule, the 
Department is making some editorial 
changes to the regulatory text in part 
250 to make this point clear. 
Specifically, this final rule eliminates 
words and phrases such as ‘‘maximum’’ 
or ‘‘no more than’’ from § 250.5 to 
clarify that carriers are permitted to pay 
more than the amounts set by the 
regulations. Instead of using these 
terms, the amended part 250 states that 
carriers are required to provide to 
eligible passengers at least the lower 
amount of: (1) 200% of the passenger’s 
one-way fare or $775 for delays of more 
than one hour but less than two hours 
for domestic flights and delays of more 
than one hour but less than four hours 
for international flights, and (2) 400% of 
the passenger’s one-way fare or $1550 
for delays of more than two hours for 
domestic flights and delays of more than 
four hours for international flights. 
Further, the Department is replacing the 
term ‘‘maximum denied boarding 
compensation’’ and ‘‘denied boarding 

compensation limit(s)’’ with the term 
‘‘denied boarding compensation liability 
limit(s)’’ or ‘‘DBC liability limit(s).’’ The 
new terms make clear that the monetary 
amounts prescribed by the rule are 
intended to allow carriers to limit the 
amount they are required to compensate 
passengers that are involuntarily denied 
boarding if the carriers choose to do so, 
and that the terms are not intended to 
impose a ceiling for the amount of 
compensation a carrier may offer and a 
passenger may receive. Further, by this 
final rule, the Department is adding 
paragraph (g) in § 250.5 to state that 
nothing in the rule prohibits carriers 
from offering denied boarding 
compensation in an amount more than 
the amount calculated according to part 
250, or the denied boarding 
compensation liability limits provided 
by part 250. Similar amendments are 
made for the written denied boarding 
notice prescribed in § 250.9. 

Like the denied boarding 
compensation liability limit, the 
domestic baggage liability limit 
provided in 14 CFR part 254 is intended 
to permit carriers to adopt a ceiling that 
caps their liability for delayed, lost, or 
damaged bags in domestic air 
transportation, and it is not intended to 
prohibit them from offering a 
compensation that is a higher amount 
than the adopted ceiling amount. As 
such, the Department is also removing 
the terms ‘‘minimum limit of [baggage] 
liability’’ and ‘‘minimum liability 
amount’’ used in 14 CFR 254.6, and 
replacing them with the term ‘‘domestic 
baggage liability limit.’’ 

The TICKETS Act also requires the 
Department to complete a rulemaking to 
ensure that carriers must proactively 
offer to pay compensation to a passenger 
who is voluntarily or involuntarily 
denied boarding on an oversold flight, 
rather than waiting until the passenger 
requests the compensation. The 
Department has carefully reviewed the 
existing rule text and its enforcement 
records, and believes that the 
Department’s oversales rule already 
imposes such requirements on carriers. 
Specifically, with respect to passengers 
denied boarding voluntarily, § 250.2b 
provides that, in the event of an 
oversold flight, carriers shall request 
volunteers for denied boarding before 
using any other boarding priority. The 
rule further defines a ‘‘volunteer’’ as ‘‘a 
person who responds to the carrier’s 
request for volunteers and who 
willingly accepts the carrier’s offer of 
compensation, at any amount, in 
exchange for relinquishing the 
confirmed reserved space (emphasis 
added).’’ In other words, for a carrier to 
fulfill its obligation of soliciting for 
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1 Instead of incorporating the statutory language 
verbatim, the Department made certain necessary 
editorial changes to the statutory language when 
codifying the statute into the rule text. The changes 
made are: (1) Deleting the effective date of the 
requirements in the statute which is ‘‘the date of the 
enactment of this Act’’ because the effective date of 
the requirements as codified in 14 CFR part 250 is 
the date that is 90 days from the publication date 
of this final rule; and (2) changing the lead sentence 
in the ‘‘Limitation’’ paragraph from ‘‘The 
prohibition pursuant to subsection (b) shall not 
apply . . .’’ to ‘‘The prohibition pursuant to 
paragraph (a) of this section shall not apply. . . .’’ 

2 The Department does not believe that Congress 
intended to apply the broader scope of section 
40102 definitions to section (e) of the TICKETS Act, 
which relates to denied boarding compensation. It 
is our understanding that should Congress intend 
to require carriers that are not currently covered by 
part 250 to provide denied boarding compensations 
to passengers, it would have stated so specifically. 

3 The term ‘‘DBC limit’’ in the current rule text 
will be revised to ‘‘DBC liability limit’’ to clarify 
that carriers are permitted to limit their liability to 
the amount provided by regulation, or to offer a 
higher amount, consistent with the requirement of 
the TICKETS Act. 

volunteers before denying any passenger 
boarding involuntarily, carriers must 
first request volunteers with an offer of 
compensation. Further, with respect to 
passengers denied boarding 
involuntarily, § 250.8 provides that 
carriers must tender to passengers DBC 
on the day and in the place the denied 
boarding occurs, or within 24 hours 
after the denied boarding occurs. 
Carriers are required to do so even if the 
eligible passenger is not aware of the 
entitlement to DBC and therefore does 
not make a request for compensation. 
Although the Department’s Office of 
Aviation Consumer Protection interprets 
part 250 as requiring carriers to offer, 
proactively, compensation to passengers 
voluntarily and involuntarily denied 
boarding, the Department is amending 
§ 250.2b to require explicitly that 
carriers must provide compensation 
proactively instead of waiting for 
passengers to request the compensation 
in an oversale situation. The 
Department will continue to enforce 
part 250 to ensure that passengers that 
have volunteered to be denied boarding 
in response to carriers’ offers of 
compensation and passengers denied 
boarding involuntarily receive proper 
compensations due to them. 

For a carrier that imposes a liability 
limit to its denied boarding 
compensation and mishandled domestic 
baggage compensation, the limits must 
be updated to these new amounts for 
transportation taking place on or after 
the effective date (as opposed to tickets 
sold on or after the effective date). All 
notices to passengers required by parts 
250 and 254 as they pertain to the new 
DBC liability limits and domestic 
baggage liability limit must be updated 
by the effective date of this final rule. 

II. Codifying Sections 425(b)–(d) of the 
TICKETS Act Prohibiting Removal of 
Passengers Who Already Boarded 
Flights 

Section 425(b) of the TICKETS Act 
contains a self-effectuating provision 
that prohibits airlines from denying 
boarding to a revenue passenger 
traveling on a confirmed reservation or 
involuntarily removing that passenger 
from a flight, if the passenger checked 
in before the check-in deadline and had 
a ticket or boarding pass collected or 
electronically scanned and accepted by 
the gate agent. Pursuant to sections 
425(c) and (d) of the TICKETS Act, this 
prohibition is subject to safety, security, 
or health risk exceptions and it may not 
be construed as a limitation on the 
responsibility or authority of a pilot in 
command of an aircraft under 14 CFR 
121.533. This prohibition also may not 
limit a penalty imposed on an 

individual for interfering with flight 
crew members and attendants, as 
provided in 49 U.S.C. 46504. The 
requirements in sections 425(b)–(d) of 
the TICKETS Act became effective on 
October 5, 2018, the effective date of the 
FAA Reauthorization Act of 2018. This 
final rule codifies these requirements 
exactly as provided in the FAA 
Reauthorization Act of 2018 1 in 14 CFR 
part 250, and makes it enforceable by 
the Department. 

Covered Carriers Under the TICKETS 
Act 

The Department’s oversales rule, 14 
CFR part 250, applies to direct air 
carriers and foreign air carriers with 
respect to scheduled flight segments 
using an aircraft that has a designed 
passenger capacity of 30 or more 
passenger seats, operating in interstate 
air transportation, or foreign air 
transportation with respect to nonstop 
flight segments originating at a point 
within the United States. In contrast, 
pursuant to section 402 of the FAA 
Reauthorization Act of 2018, ‘‘covered 
air carrier’’ as used in the TICKETS Act 
means an air carrier or a foreign air 
carrier as those terms are defined in 49 
U.S.C. 40102. Under 49 U.S.C. 40102, an 
‘‘air carrier’’ means a citizen of the 
United States undertaking by any 
means, directly or indirectly, to provide 
air transportation; and a ‘‘foreign air 
carrier’’ means a person, not a citizen of 
the United States, undertaking by any 
means, directly or indirectly, to provide 
foreign air transportation. This means 
that more air carriers and foreign air 
carriers are covered under the TICKETS 
Act than carriers covered under the 
existing requirements of part 250. The 
requirement of sections (b)–(d) of the 
TICKETS Act apply to all direct and 
indirect air carriers and foreign air 
carriers that fall under the definitions of 
section 40102.2 As such, we are revising 
the applicability section of part 250, 

§ 250.2, to specify that the requirements 
regarding removing a revenue passenger 
from a flight, as codified under 14 CFR 
250.7, has a broader scope than the 
other provisions of part 250. 

Ticket or Boarding Pass Collected or 
Electronically Scanned and Accepted by 
the Gate Agent 

According to the TICKETS Act, 
airlines are prohibited from removing a 
passenger or denying a passenger 
boarding after the passenger’s ticket or 
boarding pass is ‘‘collected or 
electronically scanned and accepted by 
the gate agent’’ (emphasis added). 
Therefore, a carrier agent’s physical 
collection of a paper boarding pass 
alone does not indicate an acceptance of 
the passenger to board the aircraft. 
Similarly, when a carrier uses electronic 
devices of any kind to scan a boarding 
pass (e.g., a paper boarding pass, an 
electronic boarding pass on a mobile 
device), the scanning itself alone does 
not indicate that the carrier has 
accepted the passenger for boarding. 
After the physical collection or 
electronic scanning, the gate agent may 
have reasons to not permit a passenger 
to board (e.g., the agent may find out 
that the passenger was trying to board 
a wrong flight, or may find out that the 
passenger has been selected to be 
involuntarily denied boarding). In those 
situations, the carrier may legally deny 
the passenger boarding because the 
passenger has not been accepted by a 
gate agent. Alternatively, if the gate 
agent accepts a passenger for boarding 
after collecting or scanning the 
passenger’s boarding pass, the carrier is 
prohibited from removing the passenger 
from the flight thereafter. 

III. Revision of Carriers’ Liability 
Limits for Denied Boarding 
Compensation 

The Department’s oversales rule, 14 
CFR part 250, requires that the DBC 
liability limit amounts be periodically 
adjusted to reflect changes in the 
Consumer Price Index for All Urban 
Consumers (CPI–U). Specifically, 14 
CFR 250.5(e) provides for the review of 
denied boarding compensation every 
two years through a specific formula to 
calculate the revised DBC liability limit 
amounts. The formula is below: 
Current DBC limit 3 in § 250.5(a)(2) 

multiplied by (a/b) rounded to the 
nearest $25 
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4 80 FR 30144. 
5 Section 250.5(a)(2) provides that the liability 

limit amount for DBC is $675 for passengers who 
are denied boarding involuntarily on a domestic 
flight by a carrier who offers alternate 
transportation that is planned to arrive at the 
passenger’s first stopover or final destination more 
than one hour but less than two hours after the 
planned arrival time of the passenger’s original 
flight. Section 250.5(a)(3) provides that the liability 
limit amount for DBC is $1,350 for passengers who 
are denied boarding involuntarily on a domestic 
flight by a carrier who offers alternate 
transportation that is planned to arrive at the 
passenger’s first stopover or final destination more 
than two hours after the planned arrival time of the 
passenger’s original flight. 

Where: 
a = July CPI–U of year of current adjustment 
b = the CPI–U figure in August 2011 when 

the inflation adjustment provision was 
added to part 250. 

Section 250.5(e) specifies that the 
DBC liability limit in § 250.5(a)(3) shall 
be twice the revised limit for 
§ 250.5(a)(2), the DBC liability limit in 
§ 250.5(b)(2) shall be the same as the 
revised limit for § 250.5(a)(2), and the 
DBC liability limit in § 250.5(b)(3) shall 
be twice the revised limit in 
§ 250.5(a)(2). 

In a final rule issued on May 27, 2015, 
the Department reviewed the DBC 
liability limit amounts then in effect 
($650 and $1,300). Based on the formula 
prescribed in § 250.5(e), using the CPI– 
U for July 2014, the Department 
determined that the DBC liability limit 
amounts should be raised to $675/ 
$1,350.4 

For this review, we are using the CPI– 
U for July 2020, which was issued by 
the Bureau of Labor Statistics on August 
12, 2020. In this review, we apply the 
formula using the CPI–U from August 
2011 (the basis month required by the 
formula) and July 2020. The results of 
this calculation require that the DBC 
liability limit amounts be raised. 
Specifically, the appropriate inflation 
adjustment for the amount provided in 
§ 250.5(a)(2) is $675 × 259.101/226.545 
[$675 × 1.1437], which yields $772. The 
base amount of $675 in the formula was 
the denied boarding compensation 
liability limit amount in § 250.5(a)(2),5 
as adjusted by the 2015 final rule; 
259.101 was the CPI–U for July 2020, 
and 226.545 was the CPI–U for August 
2011. Section 250.5(e) requires us to 
round the adjustment to the nearest $25, 
which is $775 in this case. Section 250.5 
under paragraphs (a)(3) and (b)(3) 
provide that for passengers who are not 
rerouted to reach their destination 
within two hours of the planned arrival 
time of their original domestic flight 
(four hours for international 
transportation), the DBC liability limit 
amount is twice the amount provided by 
§ 250.5(a)(2) and (b)(2); therefore, under 

the formula adjustment, this amount is 
twice $775, or $1,550. 

IV. Revision of Domestic Baggage 
Liability Limit 

The baggage liability limit that air 
carriers may apply to domestic air 
service is established by 14 CFR part 
254. This limit applies to a carrier’s 
liabilities towards any provable direct or 
consequential damages resulting from 
the disappearance of, damage to, or 
delay in delivery of a passenger’s 
baggage that was in a carrier’s custody 
during domestic air transportation. Like 
the requirements regarding the 
provision of DBC to passengers in 
appropriate circumstances, this 
requirement has never limited the 
maximum amount of compensation a 
carrier may provide a passenger in 
connection with mishandled baggage. It 
merely provides a regulatory minimum 
liability limit that carriers may set. 
Section 254.6 requires review every two 
years of the limit of liability prescribed 
in part 254 and revision of the limit of 
liability, if necessary, to reflect changes 
in the CPI–U as of July of each review 
year through a specific formula. The 
formula is below: 
$2500 × (a/b) rounded to the nearest 

$100 
Where: 
a = July CPI–U of year of current adjustment 
b = the CPI–U figure in December 1999 when 

the inflation adjustment provision was 
added to part 254. 

The application of the formula during 
the 2014–2015 review of the domestic 
baggage liability limit raised the amount 
from $3,400 to the current amount of 
$3,500. The current review requires 
another inflation adjustment. Applying 
the formula using the consumer price 
index for December 1999 (the basis 
month required by the formula) and July 
2020, the appropriate inflation 
adjustment is $2,500 × 259.101/168.30 
[$2,500 × 1.5395], which yields 
$3,848.75. The base amount of $2,500 in 
the formula was the minimum liability 
limit in part 254 at the time that this 
biennial indexing provision was added 
to the rule in 1999, 259.101 was the 
CPI–U for July 2020, and 168.30 was the 
CPI–U for December 1999. Section 254.6 
requires rounding the adjustment to the 
nearest $100, which is $3,800. 

V. Regulatory Analyses and Notices 

A. Good Cause for Issuing Rule Without 
Prior Notice and Comment 

Section 553 of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (APA) (5 U.S.C. 553) 
provides that when an agency, for good 
cause, finds that notice and public 
procedure thereon are impractical, 

unnecessary, or contrary to the public 
interest, the agency may issue a final 
rule without providing notice and an 
opportunity for public comment (5 
U.S.C. 553(b)(3)(B)). The Department 
has determined that there is good cause 
to issue this final rule without notice 
and an opportunity for public comment 
because such notice and comment 
would be unnecessary. 

This rule implements section 425(e) 
of the TICKETS Act by making 
conforming changes to the rule text of 
14 CFR part 250 to clarify that the 
Department’s oversales regulation does 
not impose a ceiling on the amount of 
denied boarding compensation an 
airline may provide to a passenger 
involuntarily denied boarding. These 
editorial changes do not amend what 
the rule previously required and is not 
expected to impact carriers’ current 
practice. This rule also implements 
sections 425(b)–(d) of the TICKETS Act 
by incorporating, virtually verbatim, the 
statutory language prohibiting airlines 
from involuntarily denying boarding to 
a passenger after the passenger’s 
boarding pass has been collected or 
scanned and the passenger has boarded. 
Since the Department is exercising no 
discretion to implement these TICKETS 
Act provisions, public comment is 
unnecessary. 

The Department has also determined 
that under 5 U.S.C. 553(b)(3)(B) good 
cause exists for dispensing with a notice 
of proposed rulemaking and public 
comment for the inflation adjustments 
herein as the application of this rule 
does not involve any agency discretion. 
These adjustments are a ministerial 
inflation update based on the terms and 
formulas set by 14 CFR 250.5 and 14 
CFR 254.6. Those formulas were subject 
to notice and comment in the 
rulemaking proceedings during which 
they were added to the baggage liability 
and oversales rules. Accordingly, 
because this is purely a formula update, 
we find that there is good cause to 
dispense with notice and comment for 
this rulemaking. 

B. Executive Order 12866 

This final rule has been evaluated 
following existing policies and 
procedures, and is considered not 
significant under Executive Order 12866 
and DOT’s Regulatory Policies and 
Procedures. Therefore, the rule has not 
been reviewed by the Office of 
Management and Budget (OMB) under 
Executive Order 12866. This regulation 
conforms with the policies and 
procedures of DOT’s administrative rule 
on rulemakings. 49 CFR part 5. 
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6 Source: Air Travel Consumer Report, February 
2020 edition, page 38. https://
www.transportation.gov/individuals/aviation- 
consumer-protection/february-2020-air-travel- 
consumer-report. 

7 The information provided to the Department by 
carriers in 2013 was based on the number of 
mishandled baggage reports (MBRs) filed with 
carriers by passengers, which was consistent with 
the reporting requirement in effect then pursuant to 
14 CFR part 234. The number of MBRs in general 
is equal to the number of passengers who 
experienced mishandled bags. In 2016, the 
Department revised part 234 by requiring reporting 
carriers to report the number of mishandled bags 
instead of MBRs. See, Final Rule, Reporting of Data 
for Mishandled Baggage and Wheelchairs and 
Scooters Transported in Aircraft Cargo 
Compartments, 81 FR 76300, Nov. 2, 2016. The new 
reporting requirement became effective in 2019. As 
one MBR may contain multiple mishandled bags, 
the number of mishandled bags is in general 
slightly larger than the number of MBRs. 

Revisions Implementing the TICKETS 
Act 

The rule revises 14 CFR part 250 to 
implement certain provisions of the 
TICKETS Act, but does not impose 
additional costs on carriers. The 
revision clarifies the meaning of 
‘‘maximum’’ DBC and DBC ‘‘limits,’’ but 
does not affect the amounts carriers 
must compensate passengers. Instead, 
the clarification is intended to prevent 
any potential misunderstanding from 
the public. The revision also prohibits 
removing passengers after their boarding 
passes are accepted by carriers or after 
they board aircraft, codifying a self- 
effectuating statutory provision. 
Removing passengers after their 
boarding passes are accepted is not a 
common practice among carriers, and 
the revision will not require carriers to 
alter their behavior meaningfully. Thus, 
the benefits and costs associated with 
implementing the TICKETS Act 
provisions are de minimis. 

Denied Boarding Compensation 
Liability Limits 

The rule provides for an inflation 
adjustment to the DBC liability limit 
amounts that air carriers and foreign air 
carriers must pay passengers who are 
involuntarily denied boarding. The 
inflation adjustment is required by 
regulation and does not involve any 
exercise of discretion or interpretation. 
Because the Department does not have 
the flexibility to alter the inflation 
adjustment, it did not consider 
regulatory alternatives. The rule 
increases transfers from carriers to 
passengers to the extent that it increases 
compensation; any increase, however, 
would be minimal. In 2019, 20,868 
passengers—24 passengers per 
1,000,000 enplaned passengers—were 
involuntarily denied boarding on 
scheduled domestic and outbound 
international flights.6 Many of those 
passengers qualified for compensation 
amounts below the DBC liability limit, 
and their compensation would not have 
been affected by the increase in the 
limits. 

Domestic Baggage Liability 

The rule provides for an inflation 
adjustment to the amount of the 
minimum limit on baggage liability that 
air carriers may assert in cases of 
mishandled baggage. The adjustment is 
required by current regulation, with no 
opportunity for interpretation. The rule 

increases transfers from carriers to 
passengers to the extent that it increases 
mishandled baggage compensation. This 
increase would be limited, however, 
because the majority of mishandled 
baggage cases do not result in claims 
that meet the liability limit. Based on 
information provided by carriers during 
an inflation adjustment review to the 
domestic baggage limit in 2013, slightly 
more than half of one percent of 
mishandled bags qualify for the current 
limit.7 

C. Regulatory Flexibility Act 

The Regulatory Flexibility Act of 1980 
(5 U.S.C. 601–612) requires an 
assessment of the impact of proposed 
and final rules on small entities unless 
the agency certifies that the proposed 
regulation will not have a significant 
economic impact on a substantial 
number of small entities. An air carrier 
or a foreign air carrier is a small 
business if it provides air transportation 
only with small aircraft (i.e., aircraft 
with up to 60 seats/18,000-pound 
payload capacity). See 14 CFR 399.73. 
The revisions of the baggage liability 
amounts affect flight segments operated 
with large aircraft, i.e., more than 60 
seats. The revisions of the DBC amounts 
affect flight segments operated with 
aircraft designed to have passenger 
capacity of 30 or more. As a result, 
many operations of small entities, such 
as air taxis and many commuter air 
carriers, are not covered by the rule. 
Moreover, any additional costs for small 
entities associated with the rule will be 
minimal and, in the case of baggage 
liability, may be covered by insurance. 
Accordingly, I hereby certify that this 
action will not have a significant 
economic impact on a substantial 
number of small entities. 

D. Paperwork Reduction Act 

This final rule imposes no new 
reporting or record keeping 
requirements necessitating clearance by 
OMB. 

E. National Environmental Policy Act 
The Department has analyzed the 

environmental impacts of this proposed 
action pursuant to the National 
Environmental Policy Act of 1969 (42 
U.S.C. 4321, et seq.), and has 
determined that it is categorically 
excluded pursuant to DOT Order 
5610.1C, Procedures for Considering 
Environmental Impacts (44 FR 56420, 
Oct. 1, 1979) available at https://
www.transportation.gov/office-policy/ 
transportation-policy/procedures- 
consideringenvironmental-impacts-dot- 
order-56101c. Categorical exclusions are 
actions identified in an agency’s NEPA 
implementing procedures that do not 
normally have a significant impact on 
the environment, and therefore do not 
require either an environmental 
assessment (EA) or environmental 
impact statement (EIS). See 40 CFR 
1508.1(d). In analyzing the applicability 
of a categorical exclusion, the agency 
must also consider whether 
extraordinary circumstances are present 
that would warrant the preparation of 
an EA or EIS. Id. Paragraph 4.c.6.i of 
DOT Order 5610.1C provides that 
‘‘[a]ctions relating to consumer 
protection, including regulations’’ are 
categorically excluded. The purpose of 
this rulemaking is to adjust the amounts 
for denied boarding compensation and 
the minimum domestic baggage liability 
limit. The Department does not 
anticipate any environmental impacts, 
and there are no extraordinary 
circumstances present in connection 
with this rulemaking. 

List of Subjects 

14 CFR Part 250 
Air carriers, Consumer protection, 

Reporting and recordkeeping 
requirements. 

14 CFR Part 254 
Air carriers, Administrative practice 

and procedure, Consumer protection, 
Reporting and recordkeeping 
requirements. 

Accordingly, the Department of 
Transportation amends 14 CFR parts 
250 and 254 as follows: 

PART 250—OVERSALES 

■ 1. The authority citation for 14 CFR 
part 250 continues to read as follows: 

Authority: 49 U.S.C. 329 and chapters 
41102, 41301, 41708, 41709, and 41712 

■ 2. Revise § 250.2 to read as follows: 

§ 250.2 Applicability. 
Except for § 250.7, this part applies to 

every carrier, as defined in § 250.1, with 
respect to scheduled flight segments 
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using an aircraft that has a designed 
passenger capacity of 30 or more 
passenger seats, operating in interstate 
air transportation or foreign air 
transportation with respect to nonstop 
flight segments originating at a point 
within the United States. Section 250.7 
applies to any air carrier or foreign air 
carrier as those terms are defined in 49 
U.S.C. 40102. 
■ 3. Amend § 250.2b by adding 
paragraph (d) to read as follows: 

§ 250.2b Carriers to request volunteers for 
denied boarding. 

* * * * * 
(d) Carriers must proactively offer to 

pay compensation to a passenger who is 
voluntarily or involuntarily denied 
boarding on an oversold flight, rather 
than waiting until the passenger 
requests the compensation. 
■ 4. Amend § 250.5 by revising 
paragraphs (a)(2) and (3), (b)(2) and (3), 
and (e) and adding paragraph (g) to read 
as follows: 

§ 250.5 Amount of denied boarding 
compensation for passengers denied 
boarding involuntarily. 

(a) * * * 
(2) Compensation shall be at least 200 

percent of the fare to the passenger’s 
destination or first stopover, or $775, 
whichever is lower, if the carrier offers 
alternate transportation that, at the time 
the arrangement is made, is planned to 
arrive at the airport of the passenger’s 
first stopover, or if none, the airport of 
the passenger’s final destination more 
than one hour but less than two hours 
after the planned arrival time of the 
passenger’s original flight; and 

(3) Compensation shall be at least 400 
percent of the fare to the passenger’s 
destination or first stopover, or $1,550, 
whichever is lower, if the carrier does 
not offer alternate transportation that, at 
the time the arrangement is made, is 
planned to arrive at the airport of the 
passenger’s first stopover, or if none, the 
airport of the passenger’s final 
destination less than two hours after the 
planned arrival time of the passenger’s 
original flight. 

(b) * * * 
(2) Compensation shall be at least 200 

percent of the fare to the passenger’s 
destination or first stopover, or $775, 
whichever is lower, if the carrier offers 
alternate transportation that, at the time 
the arrangement is made, is planned to 
arrive at the airport of the passenger’s 
first stopover, or if not, the airport of the 
passenger’s final destination more than 
one hour but less than four hours after 
the planned arrival time of the 
passenger’s original flight; and 

(3) Compensation shall be at least 400 
percent of the fare to the passenger’s 
destination or first stopover, or $1,350, 
whichever is lower, if the carrier does 
not offer alternate transportation that, at 
the time the arrangement is made, is 
planned to arrive at the airport of the 
passenger’s first stopover, or if not, the 
airport of the passenger’s final 
destination less than four hours after the 
planned arrival time of the passenger’s 
original flight. 
* * * * * 

(e) The Department of Transportation 
will review the denied boarding 
compensation liability limit amounts 
prescribed in this part every two years 
except for the first review, which will 
take place in 2012, to put the reviews 
specified in this section on the same 
cycle as the reviews of domestic baggage 
liability limits specified in 14 CFR 
254.6. The Department will use any 
increase in the Consumer Price Index 
for All Urban Consumers (CPI–U) as of 
July of each review year to calculate the 
increased denied boarding 
compensation liability limit amounts. 
The Department will use the following 
formula: 

(1) Current Denied Boarding 
Compensation liability limit in 
paragraph (a)(2) of this section 
multiplied by (a/b) rounded to the 
nearest $25 where a = July CPI–U of 
year of current adjustment and b = the 
CPI–U figure in August 2011 when the 
inflation adjustment provision was 
added to this part. 

(2) The Denied Boarding 
Compensation liability limit in 
paragraph (a)(3) of this section shall be 
twice the revised limit for paragraph 
(a)(2) of this section. 

(3) The Denied Boarding 
Compensation liability limit in 
paragraph (b)(2) of this section shall be 
the same as the revised limit for 
paragraph (a)(2) of this section, and the 
Denied Boarding Compensation liability 
limit in paragraph (b)(3) of this section 
shall be twice the revised limit for 
paragraph (a)(2) of this section. 
* * * * * 

(g) Nothing in this part prohibits 
carriers from offering denied boarding 
compensations in an amount more than 
the amount calculated according to 
paragraphs (a) through (d) of this 
section, or more than the denied 
boarding compensation liability limit 
amounts effective at the time of denied 
boarding. 

■ 5. Add § 250.7 to read as follows: 

§ 250.7 Provision to implement the 
Transparency Improvements and 
Compensation to Keep Every Ticketholder 
Safe Act of 2018. 

(a) Boarded passengers. A covered air 
carrier may not deny a revenue 
passenger traveling on a confirmed 
reservation permission to board, or 
involuntarily remove that passenger 
from the aircraft, once a revenue 
passenger has: 

(1) Checked in for the flight prior to 
the check-in deadline; and 

(2) Had their ticket or boarding pass 
collected or electronically scanned and 
accepted by the gate agent. 

(b) Limitations. The prohibition 
pursuant to paragraph (a) of this section 
shall not apply when: 

(1) There is a safety, security, or 
health risk with respect to that revenue 
passenger or there is a safety or security 
issue requiring removal of a revenue 
passenger; or 

(2) The revenue passenger is engaging 
in behavior that is obscene, disruptive, 
or otherwise unlawful. 

(c) Rule of construction. Nothing in 
this section may be construed to limit or 
otherwise affect the responsibility or 
authority of a pilot in command of an 
aircraft under 14 CFR 121.533, or limit 
any penalty under section 46504 of title 
49, United States Code. 
■ 6. Amend § 250.9(b) in the statement 
under ‘‘AMOUNT OF DENIED 
BOARDING COMPENSATION’’ by 
revising the entries for ‘‘Domestic 
Transportation’’ and ‘‘International 
Transportation’’ to read as follows: 

§ 250.9 Written explanation of denied 
boarding compensation and boarding 
priorities, and verbal notification of denied 
boarding compensation. 

* * * * * 
(b) * * * 

Amount of Denied Boarding 
Compensation 

Domestic Transportation 

Passengers traveling between points 
within the United States (including the 
territories and possessions) who are 
denied boarding involuntarily from an 
oversold flight are entitled to: (1) No 
compensation if the carrier offers 
alternate transportation that is planned 
to arrive at the passenger’s destination 
or first stopover not later than one hour 
after the planned arrival time of the 
passenger’s original flight; (2) at least 
200 percent of the fare to the passenger’s 
destination or first stopover, or $775, 
whichever is lower, if the carrier offers 
alternate transportation that is planned 
to arrive at the passenger’s destination 
or first stopover more than one hour but 
less than two hours after the planned 
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1 Public Law 114–74, sec. 701, 129 Stat. 599 
(2015). The Act amends the Federal Civil Penalties 
Inflation Adjustment Act (‘‘FCPIAA’’), Public Law 

101–410, 104 Stat. 890 (codified at 28 U.S.C. 2461 
note). 

2 81 FR 42476 (2016); 82 FR 8135 (2017); 83 FR 
2902 (2018); 84 FR 3980 (2019), 85 FR 2014 (2020). 

3 16 CFR 1.98. 

arrival time of the passenger’s original 
flight; and (3) at least 400 percent of the 
fare to the passenger’s destination or 
first stopover, or $1,550, whichever is 

lower, if the carrier does not offer 
alternate transportation that is planned 
to arrive at the airport of the passenger’s 
destination or first stopover less than 

two hours after the planned arrival time 
of the passenger’s original flight. 

0 to 1 hour arrival delay ................ No compensation. 
1 to 2 hour arrival delay ................ 200% of one-way fare (carriers may limit this amount to $775 if it is higher than $775).* 
Over 2 hours arrival delay ............ 400% of one-way fare (carriers may limit this amount to $1,550 if it is higher than $1,550).* 

* Nothing in the Department of Transportation’s regulation prohibits carriers from offering denied boarding compensations in an amount 
more than the amount calculated according to the chart above, or more than the denied boarding compensation liability limit amounts 
stated in the chart. 

International Transportation 

Passengers traveling from the United 
States to a foreign point who are denied 
boarding involuntarily from an oversold 
flight originating at a U.S. airport are 
entitled to: (1) No compensation if the 
carrier offers alternate transportation 
that is planned to arrive at the 
passenger’s destination or first stopover 

not later than one hour after the planned 
arrival time of the passenger’s original 
flight; (2) at least 200 percent of the fare 
to the passenger’s destination or first 
stopover, or $775, whichever is lower, if 
the carrier offers alternate transportation 
that is planned to arrive at the 
passenger’s destination or first stopover 
more than one hour but less than four 
hours after the planned arrival time of 

the passenger’s original flight; and (3) at 
least 400 percent of the fare to the 
passenger’s destination or first stopover, 
or $1,550, whichever is lower, if the 
carrier does not offer alternate 
transportation that is planned to arrive 
at the airport of the passenger’s 
destination or first stopover less than 
four hours after the planned arrival time 
of the passenger’s original flight. 

0 to 1 hour arrival delay ................ No compensation. 
1 to 4 hour arrival delay ................ 200% of one-way fare (carriers may limit this amount to $775 if it is higher than $775).** 
Over 4 hours arrival delay ............ 400% of one-way fare (carriers may limit this amount to $1,550 if it is higher than 1,550).** 

** Nothing in the Department of Transportation’s regulation prohibits carriers from offering denied boarding compensations in an 
amount more than the amount calculated according to the chart above, or more than the denied boarding compensation liability limit 
amounts stated in the chart. 

* * * * * 

PART 254—DOMESTIC BAGGAGE 
LIABILITY 

■ 7. The authority citation for 14 CFR 
part 254 continues to read as follows: 

Authority: 49 U.S.C. 40113, 41501, 41504, 
41510, 41702, and 41707. 

§ 254.4 [Amended] 

■ 8. Section 254.4 is amended by 
removing ‘‘$3,500’’ and adding ‘‘$3,800’’ 
in its place. 

§ 254.5 [Amended] 

■ 9. Section 254.5(b) is amended by 
removing ‘‘$3,500’’ and adding ‘‘$3,800’’ 
in its place. 

■ 10. Section 254.6 is revised to read as 
follows: 

§ 254.6 Periodic adjustments. 

The Department of Transportation 
will review the domestic baggage 
liability limit prescribed in this part 
every two years. The Department will 
use the Consumer Price Index for All 
Urban Consumers as of July of each 
review year to calculate the revised 
domestic baggage liability limit amount. 
The Department will use the following 
formula: $2500 × (a/b) rounded to the 
nearest $100, where a = July CPI–U of 
year of current adjustment and b = the 
CPI–U figure in December 1999 when 
the inflation adjustment provision was 
added to this part. 

Issued in Washington, DC, on this 15th day 
of December 2020, pursuant to authority 
delegated in 49 CFR 1.27(n). 
Steven G. Bradbury, 
General Counsel. 
[FR Doc. 2020–28001 Filed 1–12–21; 8:45 am] 

BILLING CODE 4910–9X–P 

FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION 

16 CFR Part 1 

Adjustments to Civil Penalty Amounts 

AGENCY: Federal Trade Commission. 
ACTION: Final rule. 

SUMMARY: The Federal Trade 
Commission (‘‘FTC’’ or ‘‘Commission’’) 
is implementing adjustments to the civil 
penalty amounts within its jurisdiction 
to account for inflation, as required by 
law. 
DATES: Effective January 13, 2021. 
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: 
Kenny A. Wright, Attorney (202–326– 
2907), or Marie Choi, Attorney (202– 
326–3368), Office of the General 
Counsel, FTC, 600 Pennsylvania 
Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20580. 
SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: The 
Federal Civil Penalties Inflation 
Adjustment Act Improvements Act of 
2015 1 directs agencies to adjust the civil 

penalty maximums under their 
jurisdiction for inflation every January. 
Accordingly, the Commission issues 
annual adjustments to the maximum 
civil penalty amounts under its 
jurisdiction.2 

Commission Rule § 1.98 sets forth the 
applicable civil penalty amounts for 
violations of certain laws enforced by 
the Commission.3 As directed by the 
FCPIAA, the Commission is issuing 
adjustments to increase these maximum 
civil penalty amounts to address 
inflation since its prior 2020 
adjustment. The following adjusted 
amounts will take effect on January 13, 
2021: 

• Section 7A(g)(1) of the Clayton Act, 
15 U.S.C. 18a(g)(1) (premerger filing 
notification violations under the Hart- 
Scott-Rodino Improvements Act)— 
Increase from $43,280 to $43,792; 

• Section 11(l) of the Clayton Act, 15 
U.S.C. 21(l) (violations of cease and 
desist orders issued under Clayton Act 
section 11(b))—Increase from $22,994 to 
$23,266; 

• Section 5(l) of the FTC Act, 15 
U.S.C. 45(l) (unfair or deceptive acts or 
practices)—Increase from $43,280 to 
$43,792; 

• Section 5(m)(1)(A) of the FTC Act, 
15 U.S.C. 45(m)(1)(A) (unfair or 
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